6:48

when I asked why we are always on different pages, 
why we can’t ever get it right at the same time 
he said because we are like a comet
that comes by every six years.
when I asked why he put his arm around me
he said because it was comfortable,
because I looked cold.
when I asked why he kissed me in my bed 
he said he was acting out of lust.
when I asked why he whispered the sweetest words I’ve ever heard 
he said he was just confused.
when I asked why it wasn’t me 
he said because it was her.
when he asked why I still want to stick around, why I don’t hate him.
I said because you are my best friend, 
the only person I share my chocolates with,
the only person I let have the last sip of my strawberry milkshake.
but what I really wanted to say was
because I am falling in love with you, you idiot.
so deeply fucking in love with you.

Leave a Reply

