9:48

Last night, I was tasked to read the second reading for today’s Bible reading. It’s so funny (and I don’t mean this in the funny-HAHA way, it’s just funny because I actually am asdfghjkl about it and I don’t know which other word to use) how I’ve been feeling a bit down in the dumps (in re of my last blog post) about not meeting or having semi-unattainable goals.

And then I came across the second reading again, which comes from Heb 12:1-4 which reads:

Brothers and sisters:
Since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses,
let us rid ourselves of every burden and sin that clings to us
and persevere in running the race that lies before us
while keeping our eyes fixed on Jesus,
the leader and perfecter of faith.
For the sake of the joy that lay before him
he endured the cross, despising its shame,
and has taken his seat at the right of the throne of God.
Consider how he endured such opposition from sinners,
in order that you may not grow weary and lose heart.
In your struggle against sin
you have not yet resisted to the point of shedding blood.

Coming across it again, it makes me realize that I really did not understand what I read last night. And that the feels I’m having right now about my goals and doing work and still not getting any closer to my goals, seem kind of irrelevant. Jesus is our one true goal. We are made in his image and likeness, I guess it just makes sense we be like him in thought and deed as well. Whatever we do in our lives, whoever we are, whatever goals we are trying to meet, we are tasked to always keep in mind that worldly things are not our ultimate goal. It is God. And our efforts are not for naught when we do our best for him.

So let us rid ourselves of our insecurities of thinking that we cannot do it, or we cannot attain our goals. Let us always keep in mind that if we are working on our path with God, and if it is His will, it will be granted upon us. And if we already did our best, and things still come up nada, there are greater things in store for us, all in His perfect time.

Have a blessed Sunday! 🙂

Leave a Reply

